Alert! Banks to remain close for 21 days

New Delhi: All the public and private banks will remain closed for at least 21 days in the month of October for additional holidays. In addition to the second and fourth Saturdays and Sundays, banks will remain shut for 21 days.

Here is the list of bank holidays in October 2021:

October 1: Half Yearly Closing of Bank Accounts (Gangtok)

October 2: Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti (All States)

October 3: Sunday

October 6: Mahalaya Amavasye (Agartala, Bengaluru, Kolkata)

October 7: Mera Chaoren Houba of Lainingthou Sanamahi (Imphal)

October 9: 2nd Saturday

October 10: Sunday

October 12: Durga Puja (Maha Saptami) / (Agartala, Kolkata)

October 13: Durga Puja (Maha Ashtami) / (Agartala, Bhubaneswar, Gangtok, Guwahati, Imphal, Kolkata, Patna, Ranchi)

October 14: Durga Puja/Dussehra (Maha Navami)/Ayutha Pooja (Agartala, Bengaluru, Chennai, Gangtok, Guwahati, Kanpur, Kochi, Kolkata, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi, Shillong, Srinagar, Thiruvananthapuram)

October 15: Durga Puja/Dasara/Dusshera (Vijaya Dashmi) / (All banks except those in Imphal and Shimla)

October 16: Durga Puja (Dasain) / (Gangtok)

October 17: Sunday

October 18: Kati Bihu (Guwahati)

October 19: Id-E-Milad/Eid-e-Miladunnabi/Milad-i-Sherif (Prophet Mohammad’s Birthday)/Baravafat / (Ahmedabad, Belapur, Bhopal, Chennai, Dehradun, Hyderabad, Imphal, Jammu, Kanpur, Kochi, Lucknow, Mumbai, Nagpur, New Delhi, Raipur, Ranchi, Srinagar, Thiruvananthapuram)

October 20: Maharishi Valmiki’s Birthday/Lakshmi Puja/Id-E-Milad (Agartala, Bengaluru, Chandigarh, Kolkata, Shimla)

October 22: Friday following Eid-i-Milad-ul-Nabi (Jammu, Srinagar)

October 23: 4th Saturday

October 24: Sunday

October 26: Accession Day (Jammu, Srinagar)

October 31: Sunday

The Reserve Bank of India has certain guidelines for the banks to remain closed on all public holidays with some regional holidays based on specific states only. The state governments of the respective states decide the regional holidays.