Sulochana won the BMC Mayor post

Odisha urban polls: BJD grabs BMC, CMC, BeMC

Bhubaneswar: The ruling BJD has swept the urban polls in the state.

BJD’s Sulochana Das has been elected as the new Mayor of Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation (BMC), Subhash Chandra Singh was elected as the Mayor of Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC) and Sanghamitra Dalei grabbed the Mayor post of Berhampur Municipal Corporation (BeMC).

Sulochana Das has become the first woman Mayor of Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation.

Sulochana won the BMC Mayor post with a huge margin of 61,143 votes. Das won the seat defeating BJP’s Suniti Mund.

As per the official data, BJD secured a total 1,74,562 votes for the seat while BJP and Congress garnered  1,13,419 and 11,006 votes, respectively.

In CMC, Subash Singh won the polls by a huge margin of 45,206 votes from his rival candidate Giribala Behera of Congress.

Ruling BJD grabbed the Mayor post of BeMC as its candidate Sanghamitra Dalei won the seat with a huge margin. Sanghamitra Dalei won the Mayor seat with a margin of 20,236 votes.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and BJD president Naveen Patnaik has thanked the people of Odisha for for the overwhelming support in Odisha municipal election.

“Thank all the people of #Odisha for the overwhelming support in #OdishaMunicipalElection. The win is a reflection of the outpouring of love for @bjd_odisha and untiring effort of thousands of party workers,” tweeted Patnaik.