BJP in Odisha

Odisha assembly polls: BJP announces candidates for six seats

Bhubaneswar: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) today declared candidates for six assembly constituencies in Odisha.

Shambhunath Rout has been fielded from Ghasipura assembly seat while Ashish Patra will contest from Bhograi and Sudhanshu Nayak from Bhandaripokhari. The party has fielded Umesh Chandra jena from Bari seat, Dr Purnachandra Mohapatra from Barabati-Cuttack and Prakash Chandra Ranabijuli from Begunia assembly constituency.

Dr Purnachandra Mohapatra, a very popular doctor who was earlier tipped to be Cuttack Lok Sabha candidate, has been named as MLA candidate from Barabati-Cuttack.

With this, BJP has now announced 146 MLA candidates while BJD has announced all 147 MLA candidates. BJP has not announced its Nilagiri MLA candidate.