Odisha politicians involved in criminal cases

Odisha assembly begins with stormy note

BHUBANESWAR: The winter session of Odisha Assembly on Tuesday began on a stormy note with members of both opposition parties Congress and BJP creating pandemonium demanding discussion over farmer suicides.

Speaker Niranjan Pujari adjourned the house till 3 pm.

As soon as obituary motion was passed, leader of opposition Narasingh Mishra requested the speaker to allow a discussion on a motion given by him on farmers suicides cancelling question hour and other businesses.

However, Pujari denied the demand and asked to cooperate in question hour following which the Congress MLAs rushed to the well with banners and raised slogans.

The speaker said that he had received the written motion and is examining it.

Peeved over this, Congress and BJP members rushed into the well of the house raising anti-government slogans and holding placards.

Rich tribute paid to ex-members

The state Assembly on Tuesday paid tributes to four former members of the house who passed away recently.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik moved an obituary motion as soon as the house met at 11 am on the passing away of former MLAs Chandrasekhar Pradhan, Rabindra Kumar Das, Raj Kishore Pradhan and Bibhubhushan Praharaj.

He expressed grief over the demise of the members and requested the speaker to convey the assembly’s condolence to the bereaved families of the former members of the house.

The motion was supported by the Leaders of Congress Narasingha Mishra, BJP MLA Rabinarayan Naik and CPI (M) lone member Laxman Munda.

The leader of the opposition and other opposition members expressed grief over the demise of the former members.

However, Mishra said though a few BSF Jawans had been killed, their names had not been figured in the motion.