Odisha politicians involved in criminal cases

Odisha Assembly Ratifies GST Bill

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha Assembly on Thursday unanimously passed a resolution ratifying the amendments to the Constitution to pave the way for the Presidential assent to the Goods and Services Tax (GST) Bill, 2016.

Odisha became the 16th state to ratify the GST Bill.

The resolution moved by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik was passed at a specially convened one-day session after hours-long discussion.

Chief Minister thanked the members of the assembly for supporting the resolution.

He said GST would bring about comprehensive reform in the indirect tax regime of the country.

The leader of opposition Narasingh Mishra argued for a capping in the GST rate for the benefit of poor people.

“I appeal the government to protect the interest of the poorest of poor people,” said Misha.

Legislators also raised concerns over the possible revenue loss to the state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.