EC issues gazette notification for Bijepur bypoll

Bhubaneswar: The Election Commission of India on Tuesday issued a gazette notification for the by-poll to the Bijepur Assembly constituency.

The Bijepur bypoll is scheduled to be held on February 24.

According to the notification, the by-election would be held on February 24 and counting and announcement of results would be counted on February 28.

The filing of nomination process has started on Tuesday. The last date for filing of nomination is February 6.

While the candidates can withdraw their candidatures by February 9, scrutiny of nomination papers will be done on February 7.

Meanwhile, BJP and BJD have announced their candidates for the Bijepur bypoll.

BJD will field Rita Sahu, widow of Congress MLA Subal Sahu, BJP will field Ashok Panigarhi. The Congress is yet to declare the candidate for the Bijepur bypoll.

The by-election has been necessitated due to death of seating Congress MLA Subal Sahu.