Bijepur by-poll: Union Ministers Pradahn, Jyoti campaign for BJP candidate

Bijepur by-poll: Union Ministers Pradhan, Jyoti campaign for BJP candidate

Bhubaneswar: Union Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan and Union Minister of State for Food Processing Industries Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti have started campaigning for the by-election to Bijepur Assembly constituency on Friday.

Both the Union Ministers will campaign for BJP candidate Ashok Panigarhi ahead of the Bijepur by-poll scheduled on February 24.

Pradhan will hold a roadshow in Barpali and attend public meetings at Remta, Kumbhari, Patkulunda and Kainsi under Barpali block while Jyoti will seek votes for Panigrahi in Maharpali, Gournmunda, Dhurakhman, Salepalim, Saldengupali under Gaisilat block.

Earlier, Union Minister of State for Finance Santosh Gangwar visited Bijepur and addressed public meetings at Bandhpali, Jalpali, Sadhupali and Barpali besides participating in road shows.

The saffron party has also roped in three of its star campaigners and cine artistes Mihir Das and Mahasweta Ray and Anu Choudhury, who recently joined the party, for electioneering in Bijuepur.

On the other hand, ruling BJD and opposition Congress have intensified their campaign for their candidates.

Cine stars Anubhav Mohanty, Sidhant Mohapatra, Akash Das Nayak and Arindam Roy are campaigning for party candidate Rita Sahu.

On the other hand, Congress nominee Pranaya Sahu accompanied by former Union Minister Srikant Jena and former MP Pradip Majhi has also intensified campaigning to woo voters.