Thunderstorm alert in nine Odisha districts

Bhubaneswar: The Indian Meteorological Department (IMD) issued a thunderstorm warning for nine districts of Odisha between 3 pm and 7 pm on Sunday.

The thunderstorm accompanied with hail and the gusty surface wind is likely to hit at least five districts in the state till 7 pm today.

The districts are Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Angul, Dhenkanal, Jajpur, Koraput, Rayagada and Gajapati, the IMD bullet said.

Latest doppler weather radar and satellite imageries indicate that thunderstorm accompanied with hail and gusty surface wind speed reaching 50 to 60 kmph likely to occur over the districts till 7 pm, the bulletin said.