Sumitra Jena appointed Odisha Mahila Congress president

Bhubaneswar: All India Congress Committee (AICC) president Rahul Gandhi on Saturday appointed Sumitra Jena as the new president of the Odisha Pradesh Mahila Congress.

Jena will replace Sasmita Behera, said a release issued by the AICC.

“I will work for the growth of the Congress party in the state. The Mahila Congress will be rejuvenated to oust the Naveen Patnaik government in the state,” said Mahila Congress president Sumitra Jena.

Rahul also appointed Bibhu Prasad Tarai as the chairperson of the Scheduled Caste Cell of the Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC). Tarai will replace Krushna Chandra Sagaria who has been appointed as general secretary of OPCC.

Apart from this, senior Congress leader Jagannath Patnaik has been appointed as the member of the OPCC Executive Committee.