Election to Patkura Assembly seat adjourned

Bhubaneswar: The Assembly election to Patkura constituency coming under Kendrapara Lok Sabha seat has been postponed following the death of Biju Janata Dal’s candidate Bed Prakash Agarwalla.

Agarwalla died at a private hospital here on Saturday morning.

Kendrapara sub-collector and returning officer Sanjay Kumar Mishra on Sunday adjourned the election for the Patkura Assembly seat scheduled for April 29.

As per the provisions laid down under the Representation of People Act 1951, elections for the Patkura Assembly constituency has been adjourned till the next date of notification for elections to be issued by the Election Commission of India (ECI).

Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Surendra Kumar has also informed the ECI about countermanding of the poll in the constituency.

Bijoy Mohapatra is the BJP’s candidate for the Assembly seat while Jayant Mohapatra is Congress candidate.