Odisha govt signs MoU to host 21st Commonwealth Table Tennis Championships

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government on Monday signed an MoU with Table Tennis Federation of India (TTFI) and Odisha State Table Tennis Association (OSTTA) for hosting the 21st Commonwealth Table Tennis (TT) Championships at Jawaharlal indoor stadium in Cuttack from July 17-22.

The MoU covered various obligations for the official conduct of the international event.

Sports secretary Vishal Kumar Dev signed the MoU with TTFI senior vice-president S. N. Sultan and OSTTA President L.N. Gupta in the presence of Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and Sports Minister Tusharkanti Behera.

“Today’s MoU signing for hosting the 21st edition of the Commonwealth Table Tennis Championships in Cuttack is an important step for us in promoting sports and especially Table Tennis in the state,” said the Chief Minister.

“I congratulate TT Federation of India and the Odisha State TT Association for partnering with our Government in hosting this prestigious event. I hope this event will bring renewed focus on Table Tennis, in which India has been performing well in recent times. I extend my best wishes to the participating teams,” said the Chief Minister.

The Sports Minister said this championship will see participation from some of the best players from across the globe.

Fourteen countries will participate in the championship. The participating countries are – India, Singapore, Malaysia, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, England, Scotland, Wales, Jersey, Australia, Cyprus, South Africa, Nigeria and Pakistan.