Bijepur by-election in Odisha on Oct 21

New Delhi: The by-election to Bijepur Assembly constituency in Odisha will be held on October 21, declared the Election Commission of India (ECI) on Saturday.

The vote counting and declaration will be held on October 24.

The notification for the Bijepur by-poll will be issued on September 23. The last date for filing nomination papers is September 30.

The Bijepur seat had fallen vacant after Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik vacated it and retained the Hinjili seat in his home district Ganjam.

Patnaik had won from both the constituencies in the Assembly election held simultaneously with the Lok Sabha poll a few months ago.