Odisha BJD announces candidates for Rajya Sabha

Ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on Sunday announced candidates for four vacant posts of Rajya Sabha.

 The party president and Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik has named Sulata Deo, Manas Ranjan Mangaraj, Dr Sasmit Patra and Niranjan Bishi for the vacant posts, informed organisational secretary Pranab Prakash Das.

The election process for the Rajya Sabha seats began with the secretariat of Odisha Legislative Assembly issuing notification for the filing of nomination papers for three Rajya Sabha seats.

According to the notification, the election will be held for three seats on June 10 as the tenure of Prasanna Acharya, N. Bhaskar Rao and Dr Sasmit Patra comes to an end on July 1. The filing of the nomination paper began on Tuesday and the process would continue till May 31.

Another Rajya Sabha seat was vacated as Subhas Singh resigned from the seat and contested for the Cuttack mayor seat. After he took over as mayor of Cuttack, an election was necessitated for his Rajya Sabha seat.

The election for the seat will be held on June 13.