BJD gets jolt as Keonjhar Chairperson loses in trust vote

KEONJHAR: What could be a major jolt to the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) in Odisha, the Chairperson of Kendujhargarh Municipality Meena Majhi lost in the no-trust motion after 15 councillors voted against her on Monday.

According to information, out of total 21 councillors, 15 voted in favour of the no-confidence motion.Kendujhargarh municiplaity

What is interesting to note is that nine out of the 15 councillors who voted against Majhi belonged to BJD.

These BJD councillors had brought the no-confidence motion, according to information. The rest six councillors who voted in favour of the no-confidence motion belonged to Congress.

Notably, the BJD had issued a whip to its councillors on Sunday asking them not to vote on the no-trust motion. However, 9 BJD councillors participated in the motion and voted against her.

Meanwhile, the BJD district president has said that stringent action would be taken against the party councillors who voted in favour of the no-confidence motion.

The matter becomes more serious as humiliated Majhi was picked up by none other than BJD supremo and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik which is too an embarrassment to him.

It is also reported that such a development has taken place following the alleged handiwork of an influential independent MLA of the district.