Odisha govt, EIL inks MoU for infra dev of AMRUT towns

BHUBANESWAR: A memorandum of understanding (MoU) has been signed between Housing and Urban Development Department of Odisha government and Engineers India Limited (EIL), a Nabaratna public sector company for infrastructure development in nine AMRUT towns in the state.

As per the terms of MoU, the EIL will provide end to end support for design, development, implementation and integrated management of the projects like water supply, sewerage, storm water drainage urban transport in 9 AMRUT towns of Odisha.AMRUT

EIL will function as Project Development and Management Consultant (PMDC) for Odisha government, said a release.

As per available information, nine cities namely Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Berhampur, Sambalpur, Puri, Bhadrak, Rourkela, Balasore and Baripada have been included under Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transmission (AMRUT) Mission.

The objective of the mission is to rejuvenate and transform these towns with enhanced and qualitative of basic urban services.

For the year 2015-16, centre has approved the State Annual Action Plan (SAAP) of worth around Rs.461 crore to be utilised in 85 projects in the nine cities.

The SAAP for subsequent years will be prepared with the help of PMDC.  The period of MOU is 48 months.

Chief Secretary Aditya Prasad Padhi, Housing and Urban Development Secretary G. Mathivathanan, Special Secretary Housing and Urban Development Sisir Kumar Ratho, CMD EIL Sanjaya Gupta along with senior officers from EIL and H & UD Department were present on the occasion.