Odisha to spend Rs 900 cr in 8 mineral bearing districts

Odisha to spend Rs 900 cr in 8 mineral bearing districts

BHUBANESWAR: The Odisha government would spend around Rs 900 crore in 8 mineral bearing districts for carrying out different development and welfare programmes in the districts.

Rs 900 crore will be spent in 508 villages of 33 blocks in eight districts of the state.Odisha to spend Rs 900 cr in 8 mining bearing districts

The districts are Keonjhar, Angul, Dhenkanal, Jajpur, Jharsuguda, Sundargarh, Mayurbhanj and Koraput, said Forest and Environment Secretary Suresh Mohapatra.

It was decided in a meeting held under the chairmanship of CM Naveen to discuss the formation of SPV for the development of areas affected by mining activities.

The government has constituted a Mineral Bearing Development Corporation for the development of the areas. The corporation has Rs 850 crore meant for carrying out development programmes in the districts.

Besides, the government would create District Mineral Foundation that would receive fund at different times for livelihood support in the mineral bearing areas.