Industry clusters

Odisha Govt To Develop 12 Industry Clusters

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government has decided to set up 12 clusters under Micro and Small Enterprises Cluster Development Programme (MSECDP) in the state.

These are groundnut cluster at Jajpur, coir cluster at Sakhigopal (Puri), dry fish cluster at Paradeep, rice milling clusters at Kalahandi, Koraput, and Balasore, and engineering clusters at Jharsuguda, Rourkela, Rayagada, and Dhenkanal.

The Diagnostic Study Reports (DSRs) have already been completed and special purpose vehicles (SPVs) already formed for coir cluster at Sakhigopal, dry fish cluster at Paradeep, engineering clusters at Dhenkanal and Jharsuguda and rice milling clusters at Balasore and Koraput.

It was decided in a meeting of MSME department here.

MSME secretary L.N. Gupta informed that it has also been decided to develop mini-clusters of ginning industries at Bolangir, cashew industries at Nabarangpur, engineering industries at Cuttack and Koraput, fly ash industries at Balasore, Sambalpur, and Dhenkanal.

Gupta further informed that department has set up 13, 500 MSME units with the generation of employment to 42,190 persons by August this year.

The department has set a target of promoting 40,000 MSME units during the current year with employment generation capacity of 2 lakh persons.

In order to sensitize and motivate youths to set up MSME units, it has been decided to organize 180 sensitization programmes across the state during the remaining period of the current financial year 2016-17, said Gupta.

These programmes will boost the setting up of MSME units in the state, Balwant Singh, Director of Industries informed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.