Who Is Lying? BJD Or Balabhadra Majhi

BHUBANESWAR: Even though the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) claimed that it had transferred Rs 7.5 lakh to its MP candidate Balabhadra Majhi during general elections in 2014; the facts state a different story.

Balabhadra Majhi, the BJD candidate from Nabarangpur Parliamentary Constituency, in his expenditure affidavit submitted to the Election Commission of India(ECI), mentioned that he had not received a single pie from the party as election fund.

But, the ruling party, which has submitted the details of the expenditure incurred in general elections, mentioned that it had given Rs 7.5 lakh to Majhi, who got elected as Member of Parliament from the Nabarangpur constituency.

The BJD has mentioned that Rs 45 lakh was transferred through bank cheque from its SBI A/C No 10091755246 to eight party candidates including Majhi during general elections.


The money was transferred through cheque bearing number 441630 on 10 April 2014 (A copy of which is with Update Odisha).

While Dilip Tirkey and Balabhadra Majhi received Rs 7.5 lakh each, Prafulla Pangi, Sakuntala Laguri and Nagendra Pradhan received 5 lakh each. Besides, Rajiv Patra, Saiba Susil Hansda, and Motiram Naik received 5 lakh each.

In a press conference recently, BJD leaders had also admitted having given Rs 45 lakh from its SBI account in 2014.

Notably, former Union Minister Brajakishore Tripathy had alleged that Rs 45 lakh was transferred from BJD account to some Sabyasachi Panda.

According to the law, if an account is found to be incorrect or untrue by the ECI, it could be held that the candidate had failed to lodge his account within the meaning of Section 10(A’) and the Commission may disqualify the said person.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.