Now, Odisha People Will Listen Naveen Patnaik's 'Mann Ki Baat'

Centre approves three more FM channels for Odisha

NEW Delhi: The union government has approved launching of three private FM channels in two cities of Odisha through the maiden round of e-auction.

This was revealed by minister of state for Information and Broadcasting Rajya Vardhan Rathore in a written statement submitted to the office of Lok Sabha on the issue of expansion of private FM channels in the state.

According to the Phase-III auction of spectrum under the Centre’s plan, Bhubaneswar has got permission to launch one more private FM channel against the existing three while Rourkela, which currently has two private FM channels, have got the approval for two more FM stations.

The auctions which are aimed at increasing the presence of private FM channels in the country have helped add 839 new private FM channels to the existing 313 channels in the country.

Under the Phase III expansion plan, the ministry has envisioned to launch 18 FM stations in Odisha which will cover Bhubaneswar, Rourkela, Puri, Balasore, Baripada, Berhampur and Sambalpur.

While the maiden round of e-auctions covering 69 cities including Bhubaneswar and Rourkela, other rounds of auctions are likely to pave way for according permission for more FM stations in the state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *