Patkura MLA Bed Prakash Agarwalla passes away

Bhubaneswar: Patkura legislator Bed Prakash Agarwalla passed away at a private hospital in Bhubaneswar on Saturday.

He was also BJD’s candidate from the same Assembly constituency in Kendrapara for the 2019 elections.

Bed Prakash was a six-time MLA and former minister.

Agarwalla was elected to Odisha Legislative Assembly from Patkura seat in 2009 and 2014 as BJD candidate.

He had been elected MLA four other times from Kendrapara Assembly seat- In 2000, as BJP candidate; in 1990, as Janata Dal candidate; in 1977, as Janata Party candidate and in 1974, as Utkal Congress candidate.

Since he was a candidate in this Assembly election, the Election Commission will cancel the polling in the constituency.