Odisha approves additional contingency fund for police stations

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Monday approved an additional annual contingency fund of Rs 17.5 crore for 587 police stations across the state.

The contingency fund was sanctioned for providing better services to citizens at the police stations under the Mo Sarkar initiative.

“Based on feedback from #MoSarkar program on policing in the state, CM @Naveen_Odisha approved a state-wide police contingency fund of ₹17.5Cr for 587 Police Stations. The allocations will be utilized for improving efficiency of police personnel and augmenting capacity,” tweeted the Chief Minister’s Office (CMO).

Under the programme, all the 44 police stations coming under Cuttack-Bhubaneswar Commissionerate Police will get monthly Rs 40,000 each.

Besides, 142 city police stations will get Rs 30,000 each in urban areas and 351 police stations in rural areas will get Rs 20,000 each.

Similarly, four Mahila police stations, 5 Traffic police stations, 15 Railway police stations, four Cyber police stations, one Economic Offences police station, one STF police station, one HRPC police station and one Crime Branch police station will receive Rs 30,000 per month.

On the other hand, 18 marine police stations will receive Rs 20,000 per month.