Minakshi Behera becomes CMC Mayor

CUTTACK: BJD Corporator Minakshi Behera has been declared uncontested as the new Mayor of Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC).

The election officer declared Behera as the Mayor of CMC on Friday.

Behera on Friday filed the nomination paper before the election officer for the Mayor post. Since she is the sole candidate who filed nomination paper, Behera was declared as CMC Mayor.

Congress corporators have decided to stay away from voting process protesting against the involvement of BJD corporators in availing ration card distribution under National Food Security Act (NFSA).

Notably, the three MLAs of Cuttack had met BJD supremo and chief minister Naveen Patnaik on Thursday and finalised the name for the Cuttack Mayor post.

The Orissa High Court on Thursday rejected a petition seeking cancellation of election for the post of CMC Mayor.

Kanaklata Nayak, the petitioner, had on January 13 sought election to the Corporator post lying vacant in ward no. 21 of the CMC before the Mayor election. The court had completed its hearing and had kept its verdict reserved. Nayak is also a poll aspirant from the ward.

It may be recalled that election to the CMC Mayor post was necessitated after former CMC Mayor Anita Behera resigned from the post after it was revealed that she had allegedly obtained a ration card under the National Food Security Act (NFSA).