Passport services at three postal offices in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Getting Passport services will be easier than ever in Odisha as the Postal Department is planning to start issuing the document through its three head post offices.

A notification by Ministry of External Affairs maintained that three head post offices Rourkela, Koraput and Sambalpur would facilitate providing documentation for passport services.

With the announcement coming into effect now passport services would be available for a wide coverage area and with less hassle for more people. Earlier, people from all over the state used to come to Bhubaneswar for vying for passport services.

The decision came after an agreement between Ministry of External Affairs and Department of Posts on January 24 to open up Post Office Passport Seva Kendras (POPSK).

Now candidates can file for the document online and then visit their nearest POPSK for submitting all necessary formalities and complete the registration to obtain the passport.