Speaker Niranjan Pujari resigns

Speaker Pujari resigns amid talks of ministry reshuffle

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Assembly speaker Niranjan Pujari on Friday resigned from his position fuelling speculation that several ministers may resign to make way for the reshuffle.

Pujari tendered his paper to deputy speaker Sananda Marndi.

“I have resigned to devote more time for the people of my constituency,” Pujari told reporters.

Earlier in the day, Chief Minister had hinted of possible Ministry reshuffle.

“Be patient. You will know about it very shortly,” Patnaik had told media persons this morning.

According to sources, Debi Prasad Mishra, Lal Bihari Himrika, Yogendra Behera, Snehangini Chhuria, Sudam Marandi, Pushpendra Singhdeo, Sanjay Das Burma, Pranab Prakash Das and Arun Sahu are likely to be dropped from the Ministry.

On the other hand, Sushant Singh, Amar Satpathy, Pratap Jena, Niranjan Pujari, Ranendra Pratap Swain and Surya Narayan Patro are likely to be inducted in the Ministry.

For Assembly Speaker’s post, Maheswar Mohanty and Pradip Amat’s names are doing the rounds.

Ministry rejig is likely to take place on Sunday, sources added.