Land degradation

Odisha govt declares drought in nine districts

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government on Thursday declared drought of moderate and severe nature in nine districts.

As per the reports received from the Collectors through the Director, Agriculture & Food Production, 233173.8 hectares of cropland in 5633 villages under 1186 Gram Panchayats of 66 blocks and 16 urban local bodies of nine districts have sustained crop loss of 33% and above due to moisture stress.

Farmers have suffered crop loss of 33% and above in the nine districts-Baragarh, Bolangir, Deogarh, Jharsuguda, Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Nuapada, Sambalpur and Sundargarh.

The state government authorized the district collectors to undertake relief measures in the area.