Odisha Govt Identifies 5 Clusters Under NRuM
Image: rurban.gov.in

Odisha Govt Identifies 5 Clusters Under NRuM

BHUBANESWAR: The Odisha government has identified five clusters under National Rurban Mission (NRuM) in the state.

The state government is now preparing Integrated Cluster Action Plans for Rurban clusters, said an official on Tuesday.

The five clusters are Banapur (Khorda district), Banki-Damapada (Cuttack district), Kolabira (Jharsuguda district}, Kesinga (Kalahandi district) and Thakurmunda (Mayurbhanj district). These clusters have been allotted to Odisha in the 1st phase.

Notably, the Union government has launched the Scheme “Shyama Prasad Mukherji Rurban Mission (SPMRM)” for the development of a cluster of villages that preserve and nurture the essence of rural community life.

The objective of the Rurban Mission is to stimulate local economic development, enhance essential services and create well planned Rurban clusters. This Mission is referred as National Rural Mission (NRuM).

According to the official, the clusters would be developed by provisioning of economic activities, developing skills and local entrepreneurship and providing infrastructure amenities.

The mission aims to create 300 such Rurban growth clusters over the next three years in India.