Odisha Congress Forms Panels For Panchayat Polls

Bhubaneswar: With the panchayat polls fast approaching, the Odisha unit of Congress has formed election and manifesto committees. Panchayat polls are scheduled to be held in February next year.

Senior party leaders including PCC president Prasad Harichandan, leader of opposition Narasingha Mishra, former chief minister Hemananda Biswal, Srikanta Jena, Chiranjib Biswal, Taraprasad Bahinipati, Naba Das, Lulu Mohapatra, Bhakta Das and Jaydev Jena have been nominated as members of the election committee.

Cuttack city Congress president Mohammad Moqim has been appointed as convener of the 37-member panel, the party said.

Besides, presidents of PCC women, student and youth wings and Naba Nayak have been nominated as the ex-officio members of the committee. The Congress has nominated its spokesperson Sulachana Das as convener of its nine-member manifesto panel. The party has also appointed senior leaders in-charge of districts for proper management of elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.