Tech colleges under BPUT to get autonomous status

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government has decided to grant autonomous status to the best performing colleges under the Biju Patnaik University of Technology that will help them get UGC grants for improvement of infrastructure.

It will also enhance their academic development in terms of research and development.

The autonomous status will also help tech colleges seek accreditation from the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) and seek funds under the Rashtriya Uchhatar Shiksha Abhiyan (Rusa) of the ministry of human resources development.

At present, none of the engineering colleges have been accredited by NAAC or get funds under Rusa, said an official.

“The state government has given us green signal to grant autonomous status to some best performing engineering colleges. We will decide on it by January next year,” said BPUT vice-chancellor Shyam Sundar Pattnaik.

It is expected that some colleges including College of Engineering and Technology (CET) in Bhubaneswar would get the autonomous status.

The autonomous status of the colleges will also ease the burden on BPUT. 153 engineering colleges are functioning under it.

CV Raman College of Engineering in Bhubaneswar was the only one to have been accorded autonomous status by the UGC in 2011.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.