Odisha panchayat polls: 36779 candidates won uncontested

Bhubaneswar: As many as 36779 candidates have won uncontested in the Odisha panchayat polls, said State Election Commission (SEC) on Saturday.

SEC secretary Rabindranath Sahu said the candidates have won the polls unopposed due to the filing of single nomination in the panchayat polls.

While 36222 candidates have won uncontested for ward member posts, the figure for sarpanch posts stands at 209, Sahu said.

Similarly, 347 candidates won uncontested for samiti member posts and one candidate emerged victorious for a zilla parishad member post without contesting in the poll, he added.